Settling into a New Home

Two Thursdays ago, I moved into my new apartment. This little cozy place is on the fifth floor, so carrying all my luggage was indeed a workout. The experience of moving into this apartment was different from my previous moves. For one, I had to get more furniture and appliances, such as a mobile dresser, refrigerator, stove, and storage units. The need to get these things wasn’t entirely new, but it was the knowledge of where to get them that I lacked, thus making the acquisition process a bit different. With the help of my land lady I was able to get these things in a timely-ish manner.

The view from my bedroom window.

The view from my bedroom window.

In just over a week of living in my new apartment, I have realized that a few things will make my daily life a bit different. For starters, running water has been a bit of an issue. Though this was not my first time dealing with this issue, I was a bit lost as to how to go about it. In previous visits to Oaxaca, I’ve ran into the “no water” problem. But my mom always had water on reserve and an electric heater to fill up the one bucket you are allotted for a shower. However, in this case, I did not know how the water flow works, nor did I feel comfortable moving things that are not mine. So what did I do? I texted the land lady, Dominga, if she could help me. About an hour later she came and said to give it about 30 minutes so the warm water could be ready for use. I had to wait about 2.5 hours, but I finally got my warm shower! Problem permanently fixed? Not exactly. A few days ago I had to shower with cold water, yesterday the hot water ran out in the middle of my shower, and today, no hot water again. This is definitely not the biggest problem in the world to have, but I am hoping the water situation will stabilize soon.

The greenest room of the apartment, or in other words, my bedroom.

The greenest room of the apartment, or in other words, my bedroom.

My tiny kitchen!

My tiny kitchen!

Another adjustment I will have to make is to wash my clothes by hand. Yay! At least I will get an arm workout. Laundry mats don’t seem to exist here in Puno, but you can pay someone to wash your clothes. I’m sure it’s not super expensive but I think I’d rather wash my own clothes… let’s see how long this lasts. Another temporary struggle was not having internet for over a week! Believe me, it was painful. After Dominga finally decided to install her own internet connection, rather than “borrow” someone else’s, we found out the wi-fi connection is slow. So at this very moment I am using an ethernet cable to access the inter webs, let’s hope the wi-fi signal gets stronger soon. I think I have ran Dominga’s patience with my daily internet inquiries.

On another note, I would like to share that I met a wonderful woman who has adopted me as her daughter! Her name is Maria Luiza, but goes by “Ma Lu,” and she is from Brazil and has been teaching Portuguese in Puno for three years through the Brazilian embassy. I must say, I love this woman! She has taken me out and about in Puno, suggested where I buy things, and has helped me call my mom to let her know I am okay. She has three daughters of her own, all in their early to mid twenties, so I think our bond was natural in her needing a daughter and me a mother. We’ve enjoyed each other’s company so much that we’ve already started to plan a visit to her hometown in Brazil during our vacation from teaching! I am very lucky to have met Ma Lu.

Riding on a duck boat with Ma Lu!

Riding on a duck boat with Ma Lu!

In the midst of not trying to get run over in the dusty streets of Puno, I have finally conquered breathing here. I no longer feel dizzy, get headaches, or exhausted. So I hope to start working out in the next few days. Though I am okay physically (minus my allergies to the sudden exposure to the wind or dust), last Sunday night I felt homesick for the first time. I don’t know exactly how it happened, I was simply sitting on my bed watching TV when a sudden urge to be home with my family and friends kicked in. I really wanted to give familiar faces a hug or just share a laugh, but I knew I couldn’t. After contemplating for a few minutes I just decided to turn my attention back to the movie (by the way, tons of American movies come on Peruvian cable) and simply let the feeling go. One thing I want to avoid is being sad. I know I am going to miss graduations, birthdays, holidays, and everyday bliss but I know I can always share my love with everyone who will be celebrating or crying with a Skype call or email.

Moving into a new apartment in a new city and country is exciting and scary. The unexpected things, such as not having warm water all the time, test our ability to adapt and stay calm, which will hopefully lead to a positive outlook that allows us to enjoy our new surroundings. As I began to write this blog I asked myself: “How many times have I moved since I started college?” The answer: too many, at least twice a year since 2008. Admittedly, most of those moves took place in Lynwood, Oaxaca, or in a Scripps dorm, which made the moving experience familiar because of the people and history of each place. Nonetheless, I have moved a lot. But what makes this new move special is that for once I am doing it completely on my own. Many relatives asked me right before my departure: “Why did you decide to move?” My answer: “To learn from a new community and to be away from home. I want a new experience.” Two weeks after leaving southern California, I have realized that it wasn’t just wanting a new experience, but needing a new challenge. Yes, I may speak the language of Puneños, but I do not know their customs, values, or their way of life. I am testing the waters for my adaptability in living outside of not only southern California but the United States. For the first time I am putting to use the education my family and Scripps has given me outside of my nest of comfort. I do feel a bit of pressure, but I am confident that special things will be happening in Puno.

Leave a comment